A collection of resources on historical and cultural topics including the US government, American and World History, World Religion, the American experience from African, Indian, and Latino perspectives, modern issues like genocide, and pop culture. Includes full-text articles, primary sources, images, and biographies, as well curriculum ideas for teachers.
History Fair
Fun learning activities and games for toddlers through 2nd grade, from alphabet, numbers, and shapes to reading, writing, art, social studies, and more.
Note: The free ABCMouse app is required for mobile access.
Watch the ABC Mouse tutorial
Search leading journals and magazines for peer-reviewed full-text articles on a range of subjects including science, technology, social sciences, art, medicine, and more.
Watch the Academic OneFile tutorial
Spanish language full-text articles from major news sources in the United States and from over 20 countries.
Artículos completos en español de fuentes principales de noticias en los Estados Unidos y de más de otros 20 países.
Formerly known as America's Newspapers
Find millions of articles from local, regional, and national news sources, from The Florida Times-Union to USA Today.
A collection of resources exploring the depth and breadth of African American history and culture, including articles, biographies, primary sources, media, and more.
Search over 600 journals for comprehensive coverage of agriculture and related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research.
farm, farming
Research your family history with billions of records from sources like census data, vital records, immigration records, military records, photos, and more
Watch the Ancestry Library Edition tutorial
Find your next favorite book with read-alikes, reviews, award winners, themed book lists, and more.
Develop a business strategy, make personal investment decisions, research companies, and more with resources from over 4,000 leading business and trade publications.
Whether starting a business, marketing a project, or analyzing trends, find full-text articles on business and economic topics from over 1,800 journals and magazines.
Learn how to structure and write a business plan, with examples from actual plans in retail, service, and manufacturing industries.
Find repair, maintenance, and service information on cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs with this total car care resource.
Watch the Chilton Library tutorial
Access over 3 million articles on all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Access all things IT with over 600 journals and periodicals in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Search over 250 journals for comprehensive content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
From aspiring to established chefs, access over 5 million articles, including recipes, from over 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines and books.
Ideal for consumer and market insight, find highly detailed demographic data on more than 24 million U.S. businesses and 206 million consumers.
Watch the DemographicsNow Library Edition tutorial
Find biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, from over 420 reference resources.
Enhance your genealogy research with access to over 660,000 maps, plans, and property and land-use records.
Watch the Digital Sanborn Map tutorial
An essential tool for research and marketing, this online collection provides authoritative directories on companies, publishers, and associations in industries like business, health and medicine, government, media, and more.
A must-have for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, with access to over 2.7 million articles from 150 journals exploring cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Access over 9 million full-text articles from almost 20,000 national and international open access journals on a wide range of scientific and scholarly topics.
A great resource for teachers, administrators, and education students. Find full-text articles on topics concerning every educational specialty and for every level of education, from preschool to college.
An essential tool for research and marketing, this online collection provides authoritative directories on companies, publishers, and associations in industries like business, health and medicine, government, media, and more.
Explore environmental issues with access to over 5.4 million articles, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
Find millions of articles on topics related to drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
With resources for all grade levels, this collection provides almost 200 million articles, ebooks, videos and more on a wide range of topics and interests.
Access full-text articles from current and past issues of the Florida Times-Union, going back to 1996. Issues before 1996 can be found on microfilm or the Florida Times-Union vertical files located in Special Collections at the Main Library of Jacksonville Public Library.
Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Watch the Fold3 tutorial
Nonprofits and individuals seeking funding, scholarships, or fellowships can access Foundation Directory to find and connect with funders.
In-library use only
Great for college students and general researchers, this one-stop resource provides millions of articles, images, and videos on a wide range of topics including biology, criminal justice, history, marketing, and more.
An essential tool for research and marketing, this online collection provides authoritative directories on companies, publishers, and associations in industries like business, health and medicine, government, media, and more.
Give young learners a head start with this kid-friendly database. Find books, pictures, and videos on a wide variety of educational topics like animals, geography, social studies, and sports.
Science Fair projects.
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Find resources for students and job seekers, from practice tests and exam preparation to career assessments and resume templates.
Watch the Peterson's Career & Test Prep tutorial
Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects.
Watch the Gale: Science in Context tutorial
For green thumbs of all levels, find articles on the practical and scientific aspects of plants, flowers, and gardening.
Find balanced coverage on topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
A one-stop resource for your research and general interest needs with full-text news, magazine, and periodical articles on a wide variety of topics.
Research the latest scientific developments in particle physics, nanotechnology, geology, and more.
Find comprehensive and authoritative health information on a full range of topics. Explore diseases and conditions, drugs, medical treatments and procedures, alternative medical practices, and more with this extensive collection of medical journals, reference works, and health magazines.
Use the Health Reference Center Academic database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Formerly known as America’s Obituaries and Death Notices
Find obituaries and death notices from over 4,000 newspapers nationwide with easy-to-use search options.
Powered by Ancestry.com, uncover your family history with access to 4.4 billion records from genealogical and historical sources including census data, military records, city directories, and more.
Watch the Heritage Quest tutorial
This historical newspaper collection provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1893 - 2010
Made possible through the generosity of the Mellon Foundation.
This 21-volume series provides students with critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe.
Access this collection of eBooks pertaining to the history of the Holocaust.
A home improvement resource for DIYers and professionals alike. Access information on architectural techniques, tools and materials, zoning, and more from both popular and specialized magazines and journals.
For the intrepid traveler and the tourism professional, find a wealth of resources covering the cultural and economic aspects of hospitality, travel and tourism.
Topics include information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more in the Information Science and Library Issues Collection.
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnologia, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Informe Académico
Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.
LegalTrac features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications. This invaluable resource provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.
Learn relevant, professional skills on LinkedIn Learning.
Using the LinkedIn Learning mobile app? The Library ID (case sensitive) is: jaxpubliclibrary.
Watch the LinkedIn Learning tutorial
Literature Criticism Online is the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
Watch the MasterFILE Premier tutorial
The Military and Intelligence Database covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Prepares children ages 3 – 6 for kindergarten. Miss Humblebee’s Academy is an award-winning, online curriculum for children from preschool through kindergarten, providing strength in core subject areas: math, science and social studies, language and literacy, art and music.
National Geographic Kids is reputable, authoritative and child appropriate content.
Watch the National Geographic Kids tutorial
National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. Available dates include 1888 to current.
Watch the National Geographic Virtual Library tutorial
Want to receive newsletters listing some of the hottest books recently published? Want to get the latest books in Health, Mystery, Horror, Science Fiction, or other genres? Subscribe to Next Reads Newsletters and have a list emailed directly to you! Some are published monthly, others bimonthly.
NextReads™
NoveList Plus K-8 helps parents, teachers, and librarians improve literacy, connect reading across curricular areas, teach reading and writing concepts, and engage young readers.
NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. As well as read-a-likes for every title, author, and series. Checkout NoveList Plus: Your Guide to Fiction and Nonfiction.
Watch the NoveList Plus tutorial
Find all aspects of the Nursing profession with Nursing and Allied Health Collection -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content in the field of medicine will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Science Fair Projects.
History Fair
Build a resume, take career assessments, and find job listings with this one-stop resource for job seekers at all levels.
Discover this comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting physical therapy and sports medicine with the Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection.
Discover a comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting pop culture with the Pop Culture Collection.
More than 1,000 of the most searched magazines, the Popular Magazines database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles.
Search for any term or phrase and find articles from thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content on PowerSearch.
The Professional Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content for educators. The database offers balanced coverage for any professional educator or user interested in professional development.
The ProQuest Digital Microfilm™ solution remotely hosts the New York Times for simultaneous online viewing and retrieval in it's original full-image in the library or on the go.
Checkout the Jacksonville Public Library and the New York Times Digital Microfilm, digitized newspapers collection.
The ProQuest Digital Microfilm™ solution remotely hosts the Wall Street Journal for simultaneous online viewing and retrieval in it's original full-image in the library or on the go.
Checkout the Jacksonville Public Library and the Wall Street Journal Digital Microfilm, digitized newspapers collection.
The Psychology Collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Glean from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports of others covering all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
Reference Solutions is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents.
Watch the Reference Solution tutorials
Users of the Religion and Philosophy Collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full-text subject appropriate periodicals.
Search this database to learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Small Business Collection
Something About the Author Online contains thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators, all in an easy-to-use interface that is ideal for teachers, librarians, professors, students, and other researchers of children's and young adult literature.
Student Edition database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Transparent Language Online provides an effective and engaging experience for language learners looking to build their vocabulary, practice their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills, and maintain what they learn.
Watch the Transparent Language tutorial
This U.S. History Collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history
as well as scholarly work established in the field.
An investment research platform that includes Value Line publications plus tools to track stocks and mutual funds, compare companies, and stay updated on market trends.
Watch the Value Line tutorial
Thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject from trusted, authoritative reference works available 24/7 in the Virtual Reference Library.
Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by the Vocations and Careers Collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.
The War and Terrorism Collection is the definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
Tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances.
Watch the Weiss Financial Ratings tutorial
World Book is here to support teachers, librarians, students, parents, and kids with in-person and virtual learning.
Watch the World Book tutorial
Subjects include celebrations and rituals, food and drink, holidays and festivals, music and dance, religion and belief,
tales, myths, and Urban legends, traditional arts and crafts, music and dance, religion and belief.
A note about the content found in World Folklore and Folklife:
Content in Daily Life Online reflects the voice of the people.
Vernacular speech is rough and obscenity-laden at times, and may be inappropriate for children.
The World History Collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History,
as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services. WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
